Close Menu
AI News TodayAI News Today

    Subscribe to Updates

    Get the latest creative news from FooBar about art, design and business.

    What's Hot

    A New Kind of Model for AI Decision-Making?

    Grab an Xbox controller and a $50 Xbox gift card together for just $80

    How we made the first comprehensive map of deaths along the US border’s “virtual wall”

    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    • About Us
    • Contact Us
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram Pinterest Vimeo
    AI News TodayAI News Today
    • Home
    • AI News
    • AI Reviews
    • AI Tools
    • AI Tutorials
    • Chatbots
    • Free AI Tools
    • Artificial Intelligence
    AI News TodayAI News Today
    Home»AI News»How to turn off Instagram’s new Instants feature and retract photos you accidentally shared
    AI News

    How to turn off Instagram’s new Instants feature and retract photos you accidentally shared

    By Updated:No Comments3 Mins Read
    Share Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr Reddit Telegram Email
    How to turn off Instagram's new Instants feature and retract photos you accidentally shared
    Share
    Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Email

    Yesterday, Instagram globally released a new feature called “Instants” that’s designed for sharing authentic, disappearing photos. While the Meta-owned social network billed Instants as a new format to share real-life moments as they’re happening, many users are looking for a way to turn off the feature, especially those who have ended up accidentally sending images to others, not fully understanding how the feature works. 

    When you open up Instagram’s new Instants section for the first time by tapping the mini photo stack in the bottom-right corner of your inbox, the app opens up a brief introduction about the feature that informs users that Instants disappear, there’s no viewers list, and that reactions and replies are private. The app then quickly takes you through the process of viewing and reacting to Instants. 

    Once you get to the camera, underneath it is a shutter button, and below that is a toggle that lets you choose between “Friends” and “Close Friends.” By default, it’s set to “Friends.” 

    What Meta doesn’t immediately make users aware of is the fact that the moment you tap the shutter button, the photo that’s captured is automatically sent to everyone on your Friends list, unless you manually switch the setting to “Close Friends” beforehand. 

    Image Credits:Instagram

    Since the process of sending an image isn’t clearly explained, many users have ended up accidentally sending a photo to others they didn’t intend to. (It’s worth noting that Meta does offer an “undo” option once a photo has been sent, but it’s easy to miss because the whole experience of accidentally exposing yourself to others can be quite jarring.) Additionally, some people didn’t even realize that a photo had been sent out.

    On an app like Instagram, where users are accustomed to reviewing and carefully curating their content before sharing it, the feature’s instant-send design has understandably frustrated many people, considering their privacy is at stake.

    Unsurprisingly, many users are looking for ways to disable the feature. We’ll walk you through how to turn it off and how to unsend a photo if you accidentally shared one.

    How to turn off Instants

    To turn off the new Instants feature, go to your profile, click the three-line menu at the top right to open your settings. Scroll down to “Content Preferences” and toggle the “Hide Instants in Inbox.”

    Once you select this option, you will no longer see the Instants feature in your inbox. You also won’t see any Instants that people have sent you. 

    If you don’t want to turn off the feature altogether, you can hold down the pile of Instants in your inbox and swipe right to temporarily stop receiving them.

    How to undo an Instant

    As soon as you send an Instant, an “Undo” option appears beneath the shutter button, allowing you to quickly retract the photo before recipients view it.

    Additionally, you can go to your archive by selecting the four-box icon located at the top right of the camera and delete an Instant, which will unsend it to friends who haven’t opened it yet.

    When you purchase through links in our articles, we may earn a small commission. This doesn’t affect our editorial independence.

    accidentally feature Instagrams Instants photos retract shared turn
    Share. Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr Email
    Previous ArticleYouTube viewers watch 2 billion hours of Shorts on TVs each month
    Next Article Meta brings virtual writing to everyone with Meta Ray-Ban Display glasses
    • Website

    Related Posts

    AI News

    How we made the first comprehensive map of deaths along the US border’s “virtual wall”

    AI News

    Google’s VP of product Robby Stein joins Disrupt 2026

    AI News

    Apple M6 Mac mini review: $300 price hike spoils a nice upgrade

    Add A Comment
    Leave A Reply Cancel Reply

    Top Posts

    A New Kind of Model for AI Decision-Making?

    0 Views

    Grab an Xbox controller and a $50 Xbox gift card together for just $80

    0 Views

    How we made the first comprehensive map of deaths along the US border’s “virtual wall”

    0 Views
    Stay In Touch
    • Facebook
    • YouTube
    • TikTok
    • WhatsApp
    • Twitter
    • Instagram
    Latest Reviews
    AI Tutorials

    Quantization from the ground up

    AI Tools

    David Sacks is done as AI czar — here’s what he’s doing instead

    AI Reviews

    Judge sides with Anthropic to temporarily block the Pentagon’s ban

    Subscribe to Updates

    Get the latest tech news from FooBar about tech, design and biz.

    Most Popular

    A New Kind of Model for AI Decision-Making?

    0 Views

    Grab an Xbox controller and a $50 Xbox gift card together for just $80

    0 Views

    How we made the first comprehensive map of deaths along the US border’s “virtual wall”

    0 Views
    Our Picks

    Quantization from the ground up

    David Sacks is done as AI czar — here’s what he’s doing instead

    Judge sides with Anthropic to temporarily block the Pentagon’s ban

    Subscribe to Updates

    Get the latest creative news from FooBar about art, design and business.

    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram Pinterest
    • About Us
    • Contact Us
    • Terms & Conditions
    • Privacy Policy
    • Disclaimer

    © 2026 ainewstoday.co. All rights reserved. Designed by DD.

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.